Inmo Yang with Symphony Pro Musica (Saturday Performance)

CountyOtsego (NY2989)
Official Website
Otsego (NY2989)
Tel 2019-05-04
Categoria Events
Inmo Yang with Symphony Pro Musica (Saturday Performance)

The concert features 23-year-old violinist Inmo Yang, 1st prize winner of the Paganini international violin competition and frequent soloist with orchestras throughout the world, in Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto, the most beloved violin concerto ever written. Sample Yang’s virtuosity on this recent American Public Media’s “Performance Today” presentation of Paganini’s Caprice No. 11 here. Opening the program are two movements from Florence Price’s Symphony No, 1, Juba Dance and the Finale. Premiered by the Chicago Symphony in 1933, Price’s first symphony is the first major work by a black woman to be performed by a leading American orchestra. Price, who studied at New England Conservatory in Boston, is now being widely recognized and performed all over the world, and SPM is honored to take part in celebrating this long-neglected American musician.

.  We then turn to Dmitri Shostakovich’s youthful Symphony No. 1, both exuberant and dramatic. Although written in 1924-25 as his graduation piece for the Leningrad Conservatory, the work remains one of the composer’s most cherished works. Florence Price • Juba Dance and Finale from Symphony No. 1  Dmitri Shostakovich • Symphony No. 1 Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky • Violin Concerto          Inmo Yang, violin Pre-concert talk 6:45-7:15 pm.

More Events For You

Home Page | Privacy | Sitemap
Copyright © 2019